2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or: All nominees revealed as award is set for new winner

2022 Ballon d'Or trophy
This picture taken on October 17, 2022 shows the trophy prior the Ballon d'Or France Football award ceremony at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. (Photo by FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images)

The nominees for the 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or are locked in and we can expect a new winner with two-time defending holder Alexia Putellas out of the running.

The award is still relatively new and this year will see just the fifth lot of voting take place. Ada Hegerberg was the first woman in history to win the award in 2018, followed by Megan Rapinoe. The 2020 awards were not held due to the coronavirus pandemic and since then, only Putellas has been crowned.

After a blockbuster Women’s World Cup — which saw Spain lift the trophy for the first time in their history — 30 names have made it onto the Ballon d’Or shortlist. Aitana Bonmatí has been tipped as favourite to take the title this year, following a dominant season for Spanish football. She joins plenty of her World Cup-winning compatriots, and you’ll find some familiar names from runners-up England in there too.

Stars from Colombia, France, Germany, Japan and more are also in the running, including Golden Boot winner Hinata Miyazawa, who has since signed for Manchester United.

This year’s winner will be crowned on October 30. So let’s take a look at every player on the list of nominees for the 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or award.

2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or nominees

Player NominatedClub/Country
Aitana BonmatíBarcelona/Spain
Millie BrightChelsea/England
Linda CaicedoReal Madrid/Colombia
Olga CarmonaReal Madrid/Spain
Rachel DalyAston Villa/England
DebinhaKansas City Current/Brazil
Kadidiatou DianiLyon/France
Mary EarpsManchester United/England
Patri GuijarroBarcelona/Spain
Yui HasegawaManchester City/Japan
Amanda IlestedtArsenal/Sweden
Sam KerrChelsea/Australia
Mapi LéonBarcelona/Spain
Katie McCabeArsenal/Ireland
Hinata MiyazawaManchester United/Japan
Lena OberdorfVfL Wolfsburg/Germany
Asisat OshoalaBarcelona/Nigeria
Ewa PajorVfL Wolfsburg/Poland
Salma ParallueloBarcelona/Spain
Alexandra PoppVfL Wolfsburg/Germany
Hayley RasoReal Madrid/Australia
Alba RedondoLevante/Spain
Guro ReitenChelsea/Norway
Wendie RenardLyon/France
Fridolina RolföBarcelona/Sweden
Jill RoordManchester City/Netherlands
Khadija ShawManchester City/Jamaica
Sophia SmithPortland Thorns/USA
Georgia StanwayBayern Munich/England
Daphne van DomselaarAston Villa/Netherlands

MORE from Her Football Hub: