Australia win the Cup of Nations 2023

Matildas players lift the 2023 Cup of Nations trophy.
Matildas players celebrate winning the 2023 Cup of Nations at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The Matildas secure back-to-back Cup of Nations trophies after a 3–0 victory over Jamaica. Australia won the first edition tournament in 2019 following a 3–0 win against Argentina in Melbourne.

After winning their opening two games in Gosford and Sydney, Tony Gustavsson’s side headed to Newcastle full of confidence to face off against the Reggae Girlz.

The tournament consisted of four teams: Australia as hosts, the Czech Republic, Spain and Jamaica.

Cup of Nations: Matchday 1

The tournament’s opening games took place in Gosford at the Industree Group Stadium. 

Spain beat Jamaica 3–0 after two first-half goals from Maite Oroz and Esther Gonzalez. Second-half substitute Fiamma Iannuzzi was also on the scoresheet. 

The Matildas ran out 4–0 winners against the Czech Republic. Hayley Raso got herself a brace, with Chelsea’s Sam Kerr and Australia’s most-capped player Clare Polkinghorne rounding off the scoring. 

Cup of Nations: Matchday 2

All four teams then travelled to Sydney for the second round of fixtures. Surprisingly, both of the games ended with the same scoreline.

Jamaica hosted the Czech Republic, and Andrea Staskova opened the scoring from the penalty spot. There were two more goals in the first half, giving Karel Rada’s side a 2–1 advantage going into the break.

Embed from Getty Images

19-year-old Kameron Simmonds then equalised for Jamaica setting up a tense end to the second half. Alena Peckova, who came on during the 70th minute, got the winner for the Czech Republic to help secure a 3–2 win.

Australia were 3–0 up against Spain inside the opening half. However, the Spanish were able to claw goals back through Olga Carmona and Alba Redondo Ferrer. But it wasn’t enough to snatch the points, as the game ended 3–2.

Cup of Nations: Matchday 3

On the final day, Australia just needed a win against Jamaica to be crowned champions of the tournament. They did just that and secured a 3–0 win over the Reggae Girlz, Katrina Gorry opened the scoring—followed by goals from Alexandra Chidiac and Sam Kerr.

Spain beat the 10 players of the Czech Republic 3–0 at the McDonald’s Jones Stadium. Esther Gonzalez got a double in the first half, with Athenea Del Castillo tucking away a penalty in the 84th minute. Aneta Dedinova was also sent off after a second bookable offence.

Embed from Getty Images

West Ham’s Mackenzie Arnold was named Player of the Tournament after keeping two clean sheets against the Czech Republic and Jamaica.

Spain’s Esther Gonzalez was awarded the golden boot after scoring three goals.

MORE from Her Football Hub: