2019 Ballon d’Or nominees announced

The nominees for the 2019 Ballon d’Or have been announced. The world of women’s football enters another year of celebrating their dedication and talent to the sport.

Last year, Ada Hegerberg wrote her name in history as she was crowned the first ever female winner of the Ballon D’Or. Not to mention the iconic moment where she called out DJ and host Martin Solveig for that comment.

With women’s football growing in stature each day, the Ballon d’Or award is a fantastic opportunity to appreciate some of the players who are making dreams a reality.

There aren’t too many surprises amongst the nominees this year, except for arguably, Alex Morgan.

Morgan’s nomination seems to have stemmed from her performance as part of the world’s most elite squad, where they took on one of the most underfunded national teams in modern football.

The neutrals’ favourite this year will likely be none other than Arsenal’s 23-year-old starlet, Vivianne Miedema.

Last season, the Dutch international broke the Women’s Super League scoring record with 22 goals. She also helped secure the WSL title with the Gunners and reached the World Cup final with The Netherlands.

Embed from Getty Images

The outright favourites should look to be Ada Hegerberg of Lyon and Megan Rapinoe of FC Reign. Both players have had astonishing seasons, with Hegerberg’s lack of a current international career not stifling her chances.

Having been recently left out of the FIFA Best awards, the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner released a statement insinuating FIFA ignored players with low social media presence.

Thankfully the Ballon d’Or seem to have taken a different route.

Ballon d’Or nominees:

Lucy Bronze (Lyon)

Ellen White (Manchester City)

Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars)

Nilla Fischer (Linköpings)

Amandine Henry (Lyon)

Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Dzenifer Marozsan (Lyon)

Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)

Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg)

Kosavore Asllani (CD Tacon)

Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)

Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns)

Sofia Jokabsson (CD Tacon)

Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit)

Marta (Orlando Pride)

Lieke Martens (Barcelona)

Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC)

Wendie Renard (Lyon)

Sari Van Veenendal (Athletico Madrid)