Corinthians crowned Brasileirao champions for fourth consecutive year

Celebration of the Corinthians women's team, champion of the Neoenergia 2023 Brasileirão Women's Championship Photo: Staff Images Woman/Neoenergy

Where other seasons are about to begin, some seasons are concluding, and one of those leagues is Brasileirao in Brazil. After a draw in the first leg against Ferroviária, Corinthians finished the job with a 2-1 victory.

This result didn’t only mean winning the championship, but also winning it for the fourth consecutive year, and fifth time overall.

Corinthians champions of 2023

Corinthians finished first in the regular season and therefore qualified for the championship play-offs. The first eight teams qualify for the play-offs. In the end, the final was between first placed Corinthians and third placed Ferroviária, which saw Corinthians became champions for the fourth time in a row. It is evident that the champions can be seen as the best team of 2023, as they won the regular league as well as the championship play-offs.

Qualified for Copa Libertadores

There are three teams now that have qualified for the Copa Libertadores 2023 (which does include the results of 2022), the intercontinental club competition of South America. As 2022 champions, Corinthians have qualified, as well as Internacional Porto Alegre and reigning Copa Libertadores champions, Palmeiras. The tournament will start on October 5th and will take place in Colombia.

With three very strong teams represented in the Copa Libertadores, it is likely that the future is bright for Brazil.

MORE from Her Football Hub: