Vihiga Queens to represent hosts Kenya in CECAFA Champions League

Vihiga Queens FC celebrate after scoring.
Vihiga Queens FC will represent Kenya in the 2021 CECAFA Women’s Champions League. (Photo by Vihiga Queens FC)

This July, a first-of-its-kind multinational women’s club tournament is coming to East Africa. As confirmed by Football Kenya Federation (FKF) CEO Barry Otieno, Kenya will host 11 clubs from different nations within the East African region.

The CECAFA Women’s Champions League will take place in Nairobi and feature a top team from each of the 11 countries. Consequently, Vihiga Queens FC will represent the host nation in the 15-day tournament.

“The tournament will feature 11 countries inclusive of hosts Kenya and will
run from July 17 to August 1,” said Otieno. “In view of the foregoing and taking into consideration that Vihiga Queens are the reigning champions of the local
women’s premier league, we are pleased to inform Vihiga Queens that they
will be representing Kenya in the champions league.”

Vihiga Queens were the leading team in Zone B prior to the suspension of the Kenya Women’s Premier League. After 10 matches, the reigning KWPL champions were sitting at 28 points. They won nine games, while drawing once against Nakuru West Queens.

Because of rising COVID-19 cases, play halted in Kenya’s domestic league on March 26. However, the FKF now urge the club to begin preparations for the upcoming tournament.

In addition to Kenya, other nations expected to participate include Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan, Zanzibar, Djibouti, Eritrea, Rwanda and Burundi. The clubs representing each country will be announced by CECAFA at a later date.

CECAFA member map
All CECAFA member countries apart from Somalia will participate in the 2021 Women’s Champions League.

MORE from Her Football Hub: