Kenya Women’s Premier League announce new format

The Kenya Women’s Premier League (KWPL) announced it has reverted to a zonal format to help struggling clubs.

In 2018, the federation started to sponsor each team with Sh 750,000 per season. However, the sponsorship deal fell through at the end of the year, which left some clubs in need of financial assistance.

As a result, a split league was introduced to minimize travelling expenses, dividing the 16 clubs in either Zone A or B.

Zone A will have last season’s runners up Gaspo Youth, newcomers Ulinzi Starlets from Kahawa, varsity side Zetech Sparks, Thika Queens, Kayole Starlets, Mathare United and Makolanders F.C.

[Jonah Onyango, Standard]

In Zone B the newly promoted duo of Nakuru West Queens and SEP Oyugis will join defending Champions Vihiga Queens, Wadadia F.C, Kisumu All Starlets, Eldoret Falcons, Trans Nzoia Falcons and Naivasha based Oserian Ladies.

FKF deputy chairperson Doris Petra said the new format was the only solution after sponsorship fell through.

“We have not been able to get funding for the league and this was necessary to reduce expenses for the clubs, the Sh 750,000 grant by FIFA was stopped as the body wanted the money to be used in development projects not to be given to individual clubs,” Petra said.

The top three winners in each zone will contest in a mini-playoff to crown the Kenya Women’s Premier League winner.

The Kenyan Women’s Premier League has also been forced to reschedule a number of matches. Because a host of international players are taking part in the Turkish Women’s Cup, it was necessary to make immediate changes.

The new season kicked off on March 7.

Weekend Results

Zone A


Makolanders 3-0 Mathare United Women (Camp Toyoyo, 10 am)

Zone B


Nakuru West Queens 3-1 Oserian Ladies (Afraha Stadium, 1 pm)


Kisumu All Starlets 0-1 Trans Nzoia Falcons (Moi Stadium, 1 pm)

Sep Oyugis 2-1 Eldoret Falcons (Nyahera Pr. School, 1 pm)