Spurs confirm the departure of eleven senior players


Tottenham Hotspur have announced the departures of eleven players following the conclusion of their contracts.

Rianna Dean, Alanna Kennedy, Gemma Davison, Anna Filbey, Hannah Godfrey, Lucia Leon, Aurora Mikalsen, Chloe Peplow, Lucy Quinn, Siri Worm and Elisha Sulola will all be leaving the club.

Short contracts make high turnover of players a common occurrence in the women’s game. However, Spurs fans will nervously await news of big signings to replace some of the players named in this exodus.

International names

Netherlands international Siri Worm had become something of a set-piece specialist in her two seasons with the Lilywhites. Australian Alanna Kennedy was a regular feature in the Spurs starting eleven during her loan spell from Orlando Pride this season. She provided three goals, as well as a tenacious midfield presence.

Norwegian goalkeeper Aurora Mikalsen will also depart the club after making five appearances.

Homegrown talent

Academy product Elisha Sulola takes her leave of the club after spending a season at Charlton Athletic.

Perhaps most sentimentally, Spurs’ longest-serving player Lucia Leon will move on to new opportunities next season. The Spanish fullback made 42 appearances since joining their youth setup in 2013.

Spurs will also lose several key players who have contributed to the Spurs development over the past few seasons. Forward Rianna Dean played a huge role in Spurs’ promotion to the WSL for the 2019-2020 season, finding the net 14 times in the Championship.

Head coach Rehanne Skinner referenced some “difficult decisions” when it came to these end of season goodbyes. The summer transfer window will provide a big opportunity for a rebuild.

MORE from Her Football Hub: