Swansea City lift WPWL title as FA announce league restructure

Swansea City trophy lift.
Swansea City lift the 2020/21 WPWL trophy after completing the season undefeated. (Photo by Swansea City)

Swansea City have retained their Welsh Premier Women’s League crown following their 0-0 draw against Abergavenny on the final day of the season.

The point helped see them complete an unbeaten season, finishing the league campaign on 42 points from 16 games.

Swansea beat Cardiff Met 1-0 back in November, a win that has proved to be the title decider as they finished one point above Met.

By winning the league, the Swans have now qualified for the early rounds of the Champions League.

Colin Staples’ side also retained the League Cup final four days earlier, beating rivals Cardiff City 4-1 in the final.

Cardiff Met midfielder Chloe O’Connor finished as the league’s top goalscorer after scoring 15 goals in 15 games.

This season’s breakout star was 17-year-old Pheobie Poole who scored 22 goals across both the League and Cup.

WPWL restructuring

Aberystwyth Town finished bottom of the table on five points but have not been relegated.

Instead, the FAW announced a restructuring of the league system in Wales which has seen three teams leave the league.

Abergavenny, Briton Ferry and Cascade have all been demoted from the WPWL to Tier 2.

Barry Town United and The New Saints replace them, reducing the number of teams in the league to eight.

The decision has sparked outrage from players, coaches and supporters with all three demoted sides releasing statements.

Also in Tier 2 are Wrexham who have the financial backing of Hollywood stars Rob McElhaney and Ryan Reynolds.

The pair have set aside £50,00 as they hope to improve the women’s side of the North Wales club.

This season, the league has seen increased coverage with Welsh language programme S4C airing weekly highlights. It is yet to be seen if the increased coverage results in increased attendance.