Sydney FC capture Premiers Plate, W-League Finals Series details set

Sydney FC lift the W-League Premiers Plate.
Sydney FC lift the W-League Premiers Plate following their win against Melbourne Victory at Cromer Park in Sydney on March 31, 2021. (Photo by Brendon Thorne)

For the third time in W-League history, Sydney FC have claimed the coveted Premiers Plate. The Sky Blues will now look to achieve their fourth league championship in the 2020/21 Finals Series.

After a 10-year drought, Sydney FC can officially call themselves W-League Premiership winners. Yet, it was not without last minute drama.

Sydney’s first place finish went down to the wire in the final match of the season. Facing Melbourne Victory, anything less than a win would’ve left Sydney empty-handed.

Thanks to goals from captain Teresa Polias and Princess Ibini-Isei, Sydney defeated Melbourne and cemented themselves in club history.

“The feeling of lifting the Premiers Plate after 10 years of really hard work is indescribable,” said Polias in her letter to the fans. “It’s great to be taking home some silverware but we know the next big thing is waiting for us.”

Embed from Getty Images

W-League Finals Series outlook

Following the conclusion of the Sydney/Melbourne match, the 2020/21 Finals Series fixtures came together. Sydney will face off against fourth placed Canberra United, while second place Brisbane Roar will take on Melbourne.

1Sydney FC129122611+1528
2Brisbane Roar127412912+1725
3Melbourne Victory127232514+1123
4Canberra United126422116+522

Because teams in the top half of the league table were so neck and neck, there is much excitement surrounding the Finals Series. No team is safe in the knockout-styled series, which will play out this next week.

The semi-final games will take place on April 4 and 5, with the 2021 Grand Final set for Sunday, April 11. Brisbane will host Melbourne at Lions Stadium on Sunday, April 4 and Sydney will host Canberra at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium on Monday, April 5. The highest ranked team to move on to the final will earn hosting rights.

Both Sydney and Brisbane are strong contenders for the final, as both teams are coming off of wins. Yet, what makes the series especially interesting is that each of the four teams have lost to at least one of the other top four teams this season.

Beyond the Grand Final

However the Finals Series plays out, it has been an exciting week for Australia and New Zealand football. The host cities for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup were announced midweek.

Adelaide, Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau, Brisbane, Dunedin / Ōtepoti, Hamilton / Kirikiriroa, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, and Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara will all host matches in the upcoming tournament.

Be sure to follow Her Football Hub and the Westfield W-League on social media for updates regarding the Finals Series.

MORE from Her Football Hub: