USA claim fourth U17s CONCACAF title in a row

AFP PHOTO / CONCACAF (Photo by CONCACAF / AFP) (Photo by -/CONCACAF/AFP via Getty Images)

The USA Women’s U17s victory over Mexico not only marked their fourth title in a row but their sixth overall in a display of dominance since the inaugural CONCACAF competition in 2008. The final concluded in hosts Mexico falling to a four-goal deficit.

With three first half goals from Mya Townes, Kimmi Ascanio, and an own goal from Mexican defender Adrianna Gonzalez after good work from USA forward Townes, the USA dominated the fixture in Toluca. A fourth goal was added by Alex Pfeiffer and a clumsy clearance from the Mexico goalkeeper.

It wasn’t all bad news for Mexico though. Despite the scoreline, goalkeeper Camila Vázquez took home the Golden Glove award for best goalkeeper of the tournament.

USA took their fair share of awards home along with the main trophy. Midfielder Kennedy Fuller was awarded the Golden Boot, despite Haiti striker Lourdjina Etienne having also scored an impressive eight goals. However, the American had managed her feat in fewer minutes on the pitch, securing the personal silverware. Fuller is the first USA player to win the award since Ashley Sanchez in 2016.

Consistency is key

Venezuelan referee Vimarest Diaz only had to hand out two cards to the USA during the fixture, to Pfeiffer and Katie Scott respectively. A consistent sign of the tournament by the USA youngsters as they also took the the fair play award.

All 21 players the USA took to Mexico saw minutes in the tournament, providing vital exposure for the younger players. It’s no shock that USA continue to dominate the CONCACAF. They have, in fact, never lost a game in the tournament, with a record of 40 wins and just two draws. Furthermore, their overall goalscoring record in the history of the tournament stands at a stellar 249 goal, with just 12 conceded.

The USA U17s will now turn their attention to the 2024 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup, which will be held from October to November in the Dominican Republic.

MORE from Her Football Hub: